ALL · REFLECTIONS

Coffee Sonnet

Being apart never ceased to burden me
And the absence of the good moments we once shared, still hurts me

Getting over our separation was never trouble-free
And the break- up decision I took was never meant to be

Giving you up never cured me
Not only I’m sad without you but also I’m no longer Me

Oh Dear Coffee, I once said you hurt me
But here I come to say, “been shaken the day you left me”

Oh Dear Coffee, being no longer together never worked for me
The aching mental and spiritual Me call on Thee

It started with a sip, grew as a need and ended with constant crave for Thee
A caffeine- free body never rendered a healthy me

Oh Dear Coffee, now I realize how much you mean to me
Oh Dear Coffee how I love Thee!!

Maha.

2 thoughts on “Coffee Sonnet

  1. Cute idea. What you have written is not a sonnet, however, but a series of rhyming couplets. Sonnets follow the rhyme scheme ‘ABABCDCDEFEFGG,’ however, including 10 syllables per line. Do your research.

    1. Actually, only a Shakespearean sonnet follows that rhyme scheme! However, a Spenserian sonnet follows a different rhyme scheme. ‘ABAB BCBC CDCD EE.’ And an Italian or Petrarchan sonnet follows the rhyme scheme, ‘ABBA ABBA CDECDE.’ So “Do your research.”

Leave a Reply

